arrows

This section is dedicated to the feature & improvement requests (be sure what you are asking does not exist yet in TVPaint Animation ;) )
Post Reply
User avatar
hilere
Posts: 129
Joined: 17 May 2010, 12:39

arrows

Post by hilere » 10 Oct 2015, 14:05

For storyboarding I often need to draw arrows. Untill now I haven't found a way to draw arrows in TVPaint (I am still on 9.5...so if this is present on the current version it becomes time for me to upgrade)
Is there a script existing in TVPaint that ads an arrowhead at the end of a line? If not this would be a nice featuere to have.
So you draw a line and when you lift the pressure of the pen it adds an arrowhead pointing in de direction your line went.

User avatar
NathanOtano
Posts: 960
Joined: 01 Apr 2014, 07:07
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: arrows

Post by NathanOtano » 10 Oct 2015, 14:16

Why don't you create a set of custum brushs with different types and size of arrows? With rotation so you can paste it where you want, you just have to change the size of the brush. All in a custom panel :)
Storyboard, animation and design work : http://nathanotano.tumblr.com/
As I'm highly interested in animation workflows, I'm open to scripting new TVP functions for individuals and studios. Please don't hesitate to contact me!

User avatar
hilere
Posts: 129
Joined: 17 May 2010, 12:39

Re: arrows

Post by hilere » 12 Oct 2015, 22:29

because the length of the line is always different. The curves of the lines are always different. I know it is possible to create a gazillion of different arrows but at the end you loose a lot of time picking the right one and then scale and deform it to make it fit the purpose. It is just not practical to work this way.

It would be easier and more efficient if there was a tool that just adds an arrow point at the end of your line.

User avatar
NathanOtano
Posts: 960
Joined: 01 Apr 2014, 07:07
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: arrows

Post by NathanOtano » 12 Oct 2015, 22:46

And what about a custom animbrush with an arrow at the end of the sequence, linked to pressure so when you release it you have your arrow? I'm sure you can tweak it that way with the good parameters
Storyboard, animation and design work : http://nathanotano.tumblr.com/
As I'm highly interested in animation workflows, I'm open to scripting new TVP functions for individuals and studios. Please don't hesitate to contact me!

User avatar
hilere
Posts: 129
Joined: 17 May 2010, 12:39

Re: arrows

Post by hilere » 12 Oct 2015, 22:58

Thanks for thinking along. I tried this already, but for some reason this didn't work. Maybe I did something wrong. If you can make this work please let me know. That would be a great help.

User avatar
Fabrice
Posts: 10079
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 15:00
Contact:

Re: arrows

Post by Fabrice » 13 Oct 2015, 07:29

I should have tool somewhere for you.
Please give me some time and I will find it.
Fabrice Debarge

User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 2463
Joined: 08 May 2008, 21:10
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Re: arrows

Post by slowtiger » 13 Oct 2015, 08:29

arrow1.tvpx
(105.5 KiB) Downloaded 383 times
Try this one, it's quite simple: 2 drawings, arrowhead in the first frame, animation set to once. You have to start to draw arrows from the point the arrow is pointing to, though, since there's no animation option of "whatever, then put last frame once". Be sure to already move the pen in the right direction before touching the tablet, otherwise the arrow will point wrongly.
pfeile.jpg
pfeile.jpg (30.43 KiB) Viewed 13927 times
TVP 10.0.18, Mac Pro Quadcore 3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.11, QT 7.7.3

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3556
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: arrows

Post by Peter Wassink » 13 Oct 2015, 18:48

nice solution slowtiger!
in linetool mode you can create perfect "technical drawing style" arrows this way
Untitled00000.png
Untitled00000.png (17.88 KiB) Viewed 13907 times
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
hilere
Posts: 129
Joined: 17 May 2010, 12:39

Re: arrows

Post by hilere » 14 Oct 2015, 15:34

Thanks Slowtiger. This is exactly what I was searching for. I knew it was possible somehow. A petty the arrows always start with the arrowhead, but that's something I can live with.

Peter, how do you do these technical arrows? Is this something from a later version? I am still on 9.5.

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2614
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: arrows

Post by D.T. Nethery » 14 Oct 2015, 22:25

Draw it with B-Spline tool and you can make precisely curved arrows.
Arrow drawn with B-Spline tool.jpg
Arrow drawn with B-Spline tool.jpg (61.63 KiB) Viewed 13819 times
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 1076
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Re: arrows

Post by schwarzgrau » 15 Oct 2015, 08:48

hilere wrote:Peter, how do you do these technical arrows? Is this something from a later version? I am still on 9.5.
I guess Peter is using the same technique as Slowtiger, just with the line tool instead of the freehand tool.
Mac OS X 10.13.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Mac OS X 10.13.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq Companion 2
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3556
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: arrows

Post by Peter Wassink » 15 Oct 2015, 22:09

schwarzgrau wrote:
hilere wrote:Peter, how do you do these technical arrows? Is this something from a later version? I am still on 9.5.
I guess Peter is using the same technique as Slowtiger, just with the line tool instead of the freehand tool.
correct, its a simple two frame animbrush.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

Post Reply