Hide All Panels shortcut?

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Kwadrope
Posts: 58
Joined: 11 Nov 2010, 18:25

Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by Kwadrope » 01 Jul 2011, 09:56

Is there a shortcut that can be assigned to toggle the display state of all current panels? Meaning :sketchpanel,lighttable,custom panels,etc...

like the tab and shift tab shortcuts (first is for ALL panels,second doesn't hide some panels like tool box) in Corel painter and photoshop.

Maybe even make sets of panels which belong together and be able to assign to a different shortcut,as a GROUP

If this is not possible I would like to request it as a feature

User avatar
Paul Fierlinger
Posts: 7706
Joined: 03 May 2008, 12:05
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by Paul Fierlinger » 01 Jul 2011, 11:50

To a good extent this can already be done in the two Panel Bins located at either side of the screen. Other than that there is the "D" key to toggle your layer panel, and the light table can be collapsed to a bare minimum while staying in place and remain operable.You can assign key commands to open the FX Stack panel and a few other panels can have key commands assigned to their opening. Are you familiar with all of these?
Paul
http://www.slocumfilm.com
Desktop PC Win10-Pro -64 bit OS; 32.0 GB RAM
Processor: i7-2600 CPU@3.40GHz
AMD FirePro V7900; Intuos4 Wacom tablet

Kwadrope
Posts: 58
Joined: 11 Nov 2010, 18:25

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by Kwadrope » 01 Jul 2011, 13:58

Paul Fierlinger wrote:To a good extent this can already be done in the two Panel Bins located at either side of the screen. Other than that there is the "D" key to toggle your layer panel, and the light table can be collapsed to a bare minimum while staying in place and remain operable.You can assign key commands to open the FX Stack panel and a few other panels can have key commands assigned to their opening. Are you familiar with all of these?
Yes I know all of these,but it's a nice reminder nonetheless

But what I need is somethin to hide everything with only 1 button,and then recall it again.
If I were to hide everything by shortcut the way it is now I need to input 7 shortcuts and while I know that is managable,doing this everytime to get stuff out of the way and then getting them back is just a hassle.

It should be like this: work on project,unhide all you need with 1 button, do what you need to do and hide it again

The Panel Bins is an interesting option,but I do not use it often because it's not that handy to use on a dual screen project. I mostly Use sketch Panel and custom panels but I cannot assign an overall shortcut to them,and worse not even a normal single shortcut toggle.

That's why a hide all panels function would be handy.

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3555
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by Peter Wassink » 01 Jul 2011, 14:19

what about F12?

a pity that layerpanel and side docks are not included in it though.
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

Kwadrope
Posts: 58
Joined: 11 Nov 2010, 18:25

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by Kwadrope » 01 Jul 2011, 15:22

yes,that's the closest thing so far!

but alas it forces me to use full screen and I use multiple windows,always
If it weren't for that little thing it 'd be perfect.
as it is now I can't use it save for quick viewing without anything.
and indeed layer pa,el and panel bins could be included (but preferably in 2 seperate functions like Shift+ F12)

Well ,it's something..

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3555
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by Peter Wassink » 01 Jul 2011, 16:08

Kwadrope wrote:yes,that's the closest thing so far!

but alas it forces me to use full screen and I use multiple windows,always
If it weren't for that little thing it 'd be perfect.
as it is now I can't use it save for quick viewing without anything.
and indeed layer pa,el and panel bins could be included (but preferably in 2 seperate functions like Shift+ F12)

Well ,it's something..
btw. for quick uninterupted viewing you can also use F11
(alas this one is pretty useless with double monitors)
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

Svengali
Posts: 1285
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 10:08
Contact:

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by Svengali » 01 Jul 2011, 17:44

I can't tell from your posts how much you are familiar with button commands or if you have tried this already but this works for me...

You can create a single button that will toggle multiple panels on and off with a single click (and you can assign that button to a shortcut key as well which will make hiding and displaying panels effortless.)

Simply use the Tool Bar option (last in the list of button commands) and click on Toggle <name of panel>.

Add additional Tool Bar commands for each panel you want to hide or reveal.

Name the button and store it in any of your custom panels.

You'll find the panel/button's name available for assignment to the shortcut key of your choice in the Configure ShortCuts popup window.

Sven

User avatar
Peter Wassink
Posts: 3555
Joined: 17 Feb 2006, 15:38
Location: Amsterdam (Basse-Lotharingie)
Contact:

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by Peter Wassink » 02 Jul 2011, 08:30

Svengali wrote:I can't tell from your posts how much you are familiar with button commands or if you have tried this already but this works for me...

You can create a single button that will toggle multiple panels on and off with a single click (and you can assign that button to a shortcut key as well which will make hiding and displaying panels effortless.)

Simply use the Tool Bar option (last in the list of button commands) and click on Toggle <name of panel>.

Add additional Tool Bar commands for each panel you want to hide or reveal.

Name the button and store it in any of your custom panels.

You'll find the panel/button's name available for assignment to the shortcut key of your choice in the Configure ShortCuts popup window.

Sven
duh... off course! :oops:
And you can for instance also simply add the layer panel under the F12 button by doing this in the shortcutpanle (CTRL-K):
CTRL+assign Interface: toggle layer panel
Peter Wassink - 2D animator
• PC: Win10/64 Home - Xeon Quadcore E5410@2.33Ghz - 12Gb RAM
• laptop: Win10/64 Pro - i7-4600@2.1 GHz - 8Gb RAM

User avatar
malcooning
Posts: 2112
Joined: 29 Mar 2006, 12:43
Location: Tel Aviv
Contact:

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by malcooning » 04 Jul 2011, 12:41

I didn't find the need to use custom buttons here.
I have:
F11: Interface: toggle layer panel
F12: interface: toggle windows display
pressing both buttons together clears my screen of panels completely.
It's like going into fullscreen mode but with all the drawing and editing capabilities.

User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 1063
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by schwarzgrau » 11 Jun 2012, 00:57

Isn't there a way which you can hide everything and still paint? I use a small cintiq and would love to use as much space as possible.
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq Companion 2
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

Elodie
Posts: 13913
Joined: 06 Jan 2009, 09:53
Location: Metz

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by Elodie » 11 Jun 2012, 07:13

You can uncollapse the panel bins and hit [0] on your keyboard to uncollapse the timeline, if you want =)

You can also completely disable the panels bins via the menu Edit > Preferences > Display > and disable panel bins left and right :)

User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 1063
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by schwarzgrau » 11 Jun 2012, 09:28

That's a good tip, thank you. Unfortunately I still need to press F12 and 0 to hide everything.
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq Companion 2
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

User avatar
bleupencil
Posts: 49
Joined: 16 Oct 2007, 05:03
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by bleupencil » 11 Jun 2012, 09:57

What about trying to map it to your cintiq shortcut buttons, if you have a spare one. It works pressing both keys at the same time, so just go into your tablet properties and assign 0 and F12 to a button under 'keystroke' and press away to your heart's content.

Image

User avatar
schwarzgrau
Posts: 1063
Joined: 23 Jan 2012, 22:08
Location: Offenbach / Germany
Contact:

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by schwarzgrau » 11 Jun 2012, 14:57

oh! It's so simple! I even thought about how I can use controllermate for this. Thank you!
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq 22HD
Mac OS X 10.11.6 / TVP 11.0.8 PRO / Cintiq Companion 2
SCHWARZGRAU.COM

User avatar
cgmodeler
Posts: 63
Joined: 23 Oct 2012, 23:59
Location: Mexico/France/Japan
Contact:

Re: Hide All Panels shortcut?

Post by cgmodeler » 05 Jan 2013, 20:51

Just had the same issue here, if you unstack the timeline it becomes a tool bin too... so if you press 0 it will hide it as well.

i changed my shortcut from 0 to TAB and it works like a charm, as in photoshop and it hides all the panels.

GL
www.cocoalopez.com
vimeo / 156794487
Desktop: TVP Pro 11.0.8 - 64bit Win 7 x64 48GB RAM - GTX1070 - Cintiq 27QHD Driver 6.3.29

Post Reply