Export from Tv-Paint to After Effects fails

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Post Reply
claudiav
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Nov 2019, 16:45

Export from Tv-Paint to After Effects fails

Post by claudiav » 22 Jan 2020, 15:22

Hello Tv-painters,

I'm trying to import a project from Tv-Paint to After Effects but it's just not working. I followed the tutorial... so I used the "json" script to load the project into AE, but when I press "browse" and try to import the project, the program doesn't do anything.

I have the last version of AE (CC2020) and I am working with a Mac version. 10.13.14 High Sierra. Please, help me solve this! I have already spent a lot of trying in forums and there is not much info about it.

Cheers!

User avatar
daninski
Posts: 229
Joined: 01 Oct 2015, 12:13
Location: Budapest/Newport
Contact:

Re: Export from Tv-Paint to After Effects fails

Post by daninski » 22 Jan 2020, 15:43

If you're in a rush and don't mind a big file you can go to Export Footage > clip: Latyers structure... then save as a sequence with the structure saved as PSD. When you load that into AE you'll get a comp with all your layers in as they would be in TVP.
http://www.daninski.com
Award winning director with an iMac from about 2013 and a cintiq from about 2009, there's some RAM too.

User avatar
Thierry
Site Admin
Posts: 2166
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 08:28

Re: Export from Tv-Paint to After Effects fails

Post by Thierry » 22 Jan 2020, 16:12

We've had quite a few people reporting us that there's some issues with the Import script in the latest version of After Effects.
I assume that Adobe must have changed something on their side, that cause problems with our script.

We'll have to take a look at it.

In the meantime, daninski's temporary solution should work.
Si votre question a trouvé réponse, marquez votre sujet comme Résolu. ~ If your question has been answered, mark your topic as Solved.
------------------------------

User avatar
Thierry
Site Admin
Posts: 2166
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 08:28

Re: Export from Tv-Paint to After Effects fails

Post by Thierry » 22 Jan 2020, 16:54

Update on the issue: One of the studios having the problem sent me their files, and they were working on my side.
It turns out that I had the latest update, v17.0.2, and they had v.17.0.0.

Can you try to update your version of After Effects and see if it works?
Si votre question a trouvé réponse, marquez votre sujet comme Résolu. ~ If your question has been answered, mark your topic as Solved.
------------------------------

User avatar
D.T. Nethery
Posts: 2560
Joined: 27 Sep 2006, 19:19

Re: Export from Tv-Paint to After Effects fails

Post by D.T. Nethery » 22 Jan 2020, 23:18

I'm glad to hear it's working with version 17.0.2 .

I'm still on Sierra, so I can not update to the latest version of AE . I'm on the last compatible version for Sierra, which is AE 16.1.3 , which I just updated to a recently. The JSON script for importing TVPaint to AE still works with that version.
MAC OS 10.12.6 , Macbook Pro Retina 15-inch, Mid 2015,
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB Memory , TVPaint PRO 11.0.8, 64bit -
Wacom Cintiq 21 UX - Wacom Intuos Pro 5 - driver version 6.3.20-8

User avatar
cgmodeler
Posts: 62
Joined: 23 Oct 2012, 23:59
Location: Mexico/France/Japan
Contact:

Re: Export from Tv-Paint to After Effects fails

Post by cgmodeler » 23 Jan 2020, 02:37

We also had issues when importing the .json to AE on versions above CC so we keep an AE CS5 just for importing with the old script.

Sadly the AE import script hasn't been updated in quite some time so it doesn't work properly with the faux fixe/repeat images, so we have to do that by hand.

That said, i think Takagi san from Wit Studio has an updated workflow in that regard since they have the ExportFolder script to AE. Maybe they can help.
www.cocoalopez.com
vimeo / 156794487
Desktop: TVP Pro 11.0.8 - 64bit Win 7 x64 48GB RAM - GTX1070 - Cintiq 27QHD Driver 6.3.29

User avatar
Hironori Takagi
Posts: 91
Joined: 14 May 2018, 10:15
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

Re: Export from Tv-Paint to After Effects fails

Post by Hironori Takagi » 23 Jan 2020, 08:16

claudiav,

Following this post, I checked import-json_171127 (5.4) and import-json_180224 (5.5) in the environment of After Effects 17.0.2 (on MacOS 10.15.2).
In each case, I confirmed restoration on a simple timeline.

It may not work in an actual project,
but is it OK until the panel appears?
Is it OK until you select json next?
Will more than one footage be imported?
If you can tell me at what stage it doesn't work, I will help you.
TVPaint 11.0.9, Windows10 Pro, DELL Precision M3800 / Mac OS 10.15, Apple Mac Pro(Late 2013)

Post Reply